The Gawain Poet

BookThe Gawain Poet

The Gawain Poet

Writers and their Work


January 11th, 2000

Access Token


Other Formats



This book treats separately all four poems: Pearl, Cleanness, Patience and Sir Gawain. There are also chapters on: the history of the poems and their rediscovery; alliterative verse; and what little is known about the author. The main emphasis falls on interpretation, and on such explanations as a modern reader may require. All quotations cited from the poems are translated as well.

About The Author

John Burrow is Emeritus Professor and Research Fellow, University of Bristol. He has had a distinguished academic career as a medieval specialist at the Universities of London, Oxford, Yale and Bristol and is Honorary Director of the Early English Text Society. His many publications include: A reading of Sir Gawain and the Green Knight (1965); as editor, Sir Gawain and the Green Knight (1972); Ricardian Poetry (1971); Medieval Writers and Their Work (1982).

Table of Contents

Table of Contents
Section TitlePagePrice
Half Title2
Title Page4
Note on the Text7
1 The Book and its Afterlife8
2 Pearl12
3 Alliterative Poetry: An Interchapter27
4 Cleanness31
5 Patience40
6 Sir Gawain and the Green Knight49
7 The Gawain-Poet62
Select Bibliography71